Yet another Gmail setup failure issue

Hello, another K-9 mail newbie here and I seem to be having all sorts of problems getting K-9 Mail to set up and configure itself for email accounts. I have an old faithful Samsung Galaxy S-8 phone and I have installed the K-9 email app on it. I have search the mail threads here and via Google for information about this problem. I am currently trying to set up K-9 Mail for a Gmail account I have. (yes I have read through many many postings that other users have had with Gmail, but found nothing apropos.

Following the guide at How do I add a Gmail account? I can’t even get past step 2. When I try to sign in with Google, by clicking on the button for doing so, (which BTW is just a white button, with no words or display of any kind, perhaps using white characters against a white background?) the app then asks me if I want to open another app and leave Firefox to view this content? I click on open and get a message with a spinning circle saying “Checking incoming server settings” It spins for a few minutes and then says “Setup could not finish” and “Cannot connect to server.”

I have tried the manual setup approach also, setting the IMAP server to imap.gmail.com, Security to SSL/TLS, Port to 993, setting my user name, Authentication to OAuth 2.0, checking the Auto-detect IMAP namespace, and checking the Use compression. I don’t grok what it wants for the IMAP path prefix text box, so I leave it blank. When I click on Next, it goes to the same message I described above, “Checking incoming server settings” and that is as far as I get, same failure message as described above.

So I am lost and don’t know how to find joy getting an account set up for my Gmail account! Any gurus around who can guide me out of these woods? Much appreciate and thanks in advance for any ideas!

Marc....