Sent folder not syncing for new email account

Hi there,

I have been using K9 for several years now without problems and am pretty happy with it. Until now I had 3 email accounts in K9 working perfectly.

Recently (3-4 weeks ago) I created a 4th email account on a new domain and added it to K9 as an IMAP account.

The problem: The “sent” folder will not show any emails I have sent through K9. It only shows emails I sent either through webmail or through Thunderbird on my desktop computer.

If I log into the webmail account and send test emails, I can see them in the sent folder in the webmail and in K9.

If I use my email program (Thunderbird) on my desktop computer to send emails, I can see them in the sent folder in Thunderbird and in K9.

On desktop or webmail: the sent folder does not contain any emails sent through K9.

Background information:
I have 4 email addresses on 3 different domains.
All 3 domains are registered with and managed by gandi.net
I have K9 version 5.806
The phone is a Pixel 5 running Android 12 with all latest updates.

Attempted remedies:
I have tried removing the email account with which I am having this problem and re-adding it.
I have ensured that Settings > [Account] > Sending mail > Upload sent messages is checked

2 Likes

Solution:

While waiting for a response to this thread I continued to browse through similar questions here in the forum and came across a suggestion to check whether the correct folders had been selected under Settings > Account > Folders. I was surprised to see that almost all the folders were set to Automatic (None). I manually selected all the appropriate folders and tried to send a test email and now it works as expected, a copy of the sent message is stored in the sent folder.

I am pretty sure I never had to do this with any of my other 3 email addresses. Is this something new? If yes, it feels like a downgrade in the user experience.

1 Like