Passwords Not Working

I’ve been using the K9 App for several years, without having any problems. Then recently I purchased a new (Motorola Power G), and installed the latest K9 App. I haven’t been able to set up my Gmail (4) accounts, for some reason K9 is not accepting the Gmail passwords. It has accepted my (3) other “non-Gmail” accounts passwords. I am hoping someone could help me solve this problem.
Thanks in advance.
Dave.

Google, including gmail, was just suffering a wide-range outage which may have been the cause of your problem.

Things seems to be back now, so if the issue continues, I assume that you are using the “app passwords” you set up for K9/gmail use, not your regular google/gmail login password.

Yes, I too was getting authentication failures for GMail Monday evening until late Tuesday morning - on K-9 as well as Thunderbird. Not a client software issue. Google Drive and Docs, and YouTube were affected. Not an App Passwords issue.

Thanks for your replies guys. Unfortunately this problem has been going on since a few weeks ago, so the Google problem the other day isn’t the problem. As for the “app passwords”, I’ve been using the regular Google/Gmail login, I didn’t know there was any other way to log in. I have just uninstalled/re-installed K9, but it is still not accepting the passwords.

K9 doesn’t support OAuth.2, yet, so is considered a “less secure” app by gmail (and some other mail providers). So, to get it to work you need to follow the gmail setup steps, including setting up/using “app passwords”, as outlined at:

https://support.google.com/accounts/answer/6010255

1 Like

Thanks for the help, but unfortunately even after going through the process of turning “ON” the Less Secure Feature that Google has, I still can’t get my Gmail password/s to work in K9. I’m not sure what I can do next.
Dave