How do the four delete options interact?

I can’t get deleting on K-9 and my use of Squirrel mail to work together.

I see ::
Sync server deletions
Mark as read when deleted
When I deleted a message
Erase deleted messages on server

How do they interact?

How do I set them so that deleting on K-9 ONLY moves them to TRASH?

Does when I delete a message : should I use do not delete or delete from server
to get it to move to TRASH.

Can my problem be with my server and not K-9

thanks in advance

Joe f

  1. Make sure the account in K-9 Mail is configured to use IMAP, not POP3.
  2. Make sure the trash folder on the server is correctly selected under Settings → [Account] → Folders → Trash folder
  3. Settings → [Account] → Fetching mail → Sync server deletions should be checked
  4. The state of Settings → [Account] → Fetching mail → Mark as read when deleted doesn’t matter. If checked, unread messages that are deleted by the user, will be moved to the Trash folder, then marked as read.
  5. Settings → [Account] → Fetching mail → When I delete a message should be set to Delete from server.